2012 winners of the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence.

SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence was created in 1997 to recognize students who have best demonstrated, and have been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts, campus involvement, or career achievement.

Each year, campus presidents establish a selection committee, which reviews exemplary students. Nominees are then forwarded to the Chancellor’s Office and are subject to a second round of review. Finalists are then recommended to the Chancellor to become recipients of the award. Each recipient receives a framed certificate and medallion, which is traditionally worn at commencement.

“The students we honor have taken full advantage of the academic and extracurricular programs that SUNY provides both in the classroom and in the community,” said Chancellor Zimpher. “These proven leaders, athletes, artists, and civic volunteers truly represent the power of SUNY. I congratulate all of the students being recognized today and thank them for the positive impact each has had on New York State, our university system, and the communities we serve.”

11 Honors College Scholars named 2016 SUNY Chancellors Award Winners

Caroline Brown | Speech and Hearing Science

Dylan Burns | Architecture

Ashley Cercone | Anthropology, Classics, and Art History

Steven Coffed | Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

Max Crinnin | English

Dante Iozzo |Physics and Mathematics

Patricia Johnson | Chemistry

Elizabeth Kaltenbach | Biological Sciences and Dance

Kristen Milleville | Biomedical Science

Natasha Singh | Biomedical Science and Psychology

Alexandra Van Hall | Chemistry

Last updated: February 15, 2017 12:21 pm EST